/searching A-Z index Help
University of Cambridge Home Institute of Biotechnology
University of Cambridge  > Institute of Biotechnology

Professor. C.R.Lowe

Personal Profile

Research Overview

Downstream Processing of Biopharmaceuticals

Biosensors and Bioelectronics

Enzyme and Microbial Technology

Holographic Sensors

Prion Proteins



Email Prof. C.R.Lowe



Christopher R. Lowe received his B.Sc and Ph.D degrees in biochemistry from the University of Birmingham in 1967 and 1970 respectively. He has conducted post-doctoral research in Liverpool and Sweden and held a lectureship/senior lectureship at the University of Southampton. He is currently Director of the Institute of Biotechnology and Professor of Biotechnology at the University of Cambridge. He is a fellow of Trinity College.

The principal focus of his biotechnology research programme over the last 30 years has been the high value - low volume sectors of pharmaceuticals, fine chemicals and diagnostics. The work not only covers aspects of biochemistry, microbiology, chemistry, electrochemistry, physics, electronics and chemical engineering, but also the entire range from pure science to strategic applied science, some of which has significant commercial applications and had led to the establishment of 7 spin-out companies. He has 250 publications, 7 monographs and 40 patents. He is actively involved in many collaborations worldwide, is on the editorial boards of a number of academic journals, sits on a number of research council, grant awarding and government committees, and is active in various legal and entrepreneurial roles.

He has supervised over 50 Ph.D students and won a number of prizes over the last two decades: the Pierce Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Affinity Chromatography and Related Techniques (1989); David Curnow Prize in Clinical Chemistry for work on Biosensors (1991); Schlumberger Stichting Prize (1994); The Queen's Award for Technological Achievement (1996); The Jubilee Medal of the Chromatographic Society (2002); Elected Russian Academy of Medical Sciences (2002).